With all the hype surrounding Super Bowl Sunday, why let the opportunity slip?

Kensington church each year errs on the side of going overboard for Super Sunday services.Last year at Clinton Township, the service was played out in four quarters, with Kid Rock (wink) performing at halftime. Rory even penalized pastor Chris for using words from a previous sermon.

This year, the topic is (natch) Tim Tebow! Yes, why we love/hate Tim Tebow.

If you only attend church on holidays, maybe you’ll want to add this holiday to your schedule. Kensington never fails to deliver an entertaining Super Sunday service. And, I may add, never fails to drive home a message.

Last time I heard pastor Dave Wilson speak at Troy, the Lions chaplain had a few things to say about Tebowmania.

Being that nobody else has weighed in about Tebow, let me be the first. Well, there’s a chance I won’t be the first.

Unfortunately, I understand the hate for Tebow. Why isn’t there hatred for Jason Terry of the Dallas Mavericks? To me, he is far more outspoken about his beliefs, but I’ve never met at Jason Terry hater.

On the flip side, I think Denver is obligated to take an honest assessment of its future. If the Broncos get a quarterback the caliber of Andrew Luck, or  that Matt Flynn guy in Green Bay, how could they not go after them? Also, what if you had a receiver the likes of Calvin Johnson? Would you be happy with Tebow’s eight completions a game? I can tell you most NFL players would have a hard time playing in Tebow’s system.

Tebow, to me, proved all he ever needed to prove by getting the lowly Broncos into the playoffs and beating Pittsburgh. It may be the high point of his career. Hopefully not, but Tebow is mature enough to handle what comes his way. Tebow is an inspiration, and one sorely needed in our Jersey Shore society.

